I’m Back to Stay

I looked at the date of my last post and gasped.  Let’s not discuss it.  Let’s just say that we’re starting over.

A lot changed in my life since ::ahem:: my first real post so the content of this blog will be a bit different.  I am a bit late to the party on the idea of eating a Paleo diet.  I’ve been gluten-free for years.  I added an entry on why I shifted the focus of this blog from simply being gluten-free to being gluten-free and Paleo.  Why blog about it? Well, it can be a challenge to let go of something like gluten for some people.  I just walked into a cupcake shop a few weeks ago to buy a cupcake for a friend’s little girl, and I noticed that their shop offered GF cupcakes.  I cooed in delight! The woman behind the counter, who looked exhausted, haggard, slightly jaundiced, and possessed deep, dark circles under her eyes, asked me if I was gluten-free.  I answered in the affirmative.  She shared with me that she tried going gluten-free some time ago, but she found it to be too difficult.  I asked her if she felt better.  She replied, “Oh yeah, I felt so much better! I get headaches all the time, and I…uh…well, you know, have these really annoying stomach problems.  I get…ahem…gassy.  It’s really bad.  And my skin is just awful.  I mean, I don’t know what to do about it.”  I couldn’t help it.  I just crossed my arms and stared at her.  “Did your stomach problems get better off the gluten?”  She put the cupcake in a box and said, “Ohmigod, yes!” I bit my lip.  “Uh huh…and your skin? Did that improve?”  She took my debit card, “Oh well, yeah!”  I squinted my eyes, “Did you sleep better? Did your restlessness improve?” She paused and looked at me.  “How did you know that I get restless?” I just grinned at her.  “Did it get better?”  She nodded.  “Honey, you have got to stop eating gluten.  Your body can’t tolerate it.”  She looked sheepish and said, “I know.”

It’s human nature.  We do what we know we should not because doing what we should do is hard.

In the beginning, I wanted to prove that going GF wasn’t as hard as everyone thought.  As common as the issue of gluten is now, I still meet a lot of people who don’t really understand it.  They ask me if I can eat potatoes or rice.  They ask if I can eat apples or pears.  They don’t understand that gluten is a protein in wheat, rye, and barley.  It’s also in the grains related to wheat, rye, and barley like spelt and triticale.  It’s not in corn.  It’s not in oats although oats are so often processed in facilities that process wheat that you must buy gluten-free oats otherwise you risk contamination.

There are so many gluten-free flour options on the market now that almost any recipe can be made gluten-free.  It is no longer a chore to live a gluten-free lifestyle.

But what about health? What about flourishing? This is what ultimately brought me to looking at the Paleo diet.  Is there an even better way to eat? I’ll admit that I have been a sugar junkie even on a gluten-free diet.  I justified it.  If I had to give up gluten, then at least I could keep the sugar.  Sure, I only ate organic cane sugar, but sugar is sugar.  I still felt horrible.  My migraines were not improving.  I was getting cluster headaches.  I even dropped my caffeine consumption to once a day–only one cup of coffee in the morning.  I was a good girl! Heck, I even went so far as to cut out chocolate.  Oh, the pain! It didn’t matter.  I still felt terrible, and I started looking bad, too.  That was it.  Hit me in my vanity, and something has to be done.

So, here I am.  On the threshold of joining the ranks of the cavemen.  I’m not exactly happy about it.  I feel like I want to eat a cup of oats just because I’m suddenly not allowed, and I feel a little depressed about it.  I know, however, that I will only feel better.  So, that’s what I’ll share here.  I’ve got some great recipes lined up.  I also have some outstanding research in hand as well.  At heart, I want others to feel better and flourish in their lives.  If my paltry effort can affect change somewhere else, then glory be! It will add meaning to my journey and perhaps yours, too!

So, tonight I’m making sweet potato pancakes for dinner because it just feels like a breakfast for dinner sort of day.  I’ll post the recipe and my review tout de suite!

 

Leave A Comment

